Month in Review: February 2015

Ah, February. The month of love and cold. And snow. Oh, there was much snow. Even though the month is short we have a lot to celebrate. My husband’s birthday. My BIL’s birthday. Valentine’s Day. The Superbowl. Looking back, it feels like the month was packed with parties. No complaints here!

Like last month, I thought it would be fun to do a recap of February 1st. I think (hope) it will make for an interesting read at the end of the year.  Like I mentioned in my day-in-the-life post, we had plans to watch the Super Bowl with my parents and because of an impending snow storm they actually requested that we come by Saturday evening.

*******************************************************************************

Sunday morning we woke up to almost white-out conditions and L, my dad and I headed outside to get working on snow removal.  I can’t believe that February 1 was the first time this winter that I needed to do that.  My parents headed to church and I watched a sermon online because I was still working on a neighbor’s driveway when it was time to leave.  I love that my parents live in a neighborhood where people take care of each other – helping single moms with the shoveling, passing snowblowers around from family to family and kids out helping alongside their parents.  It actually reminds me a lot of the neighborhood I grew up in, so I’m not surprised my parents chose to relocate here.  After taking care of the snow L did homework and I helped my mom go through her closet and discard things that didn’t fit or work for her anymore.

Superbowl food

Regarding the Superbowl itself, we were most definitely a house divided. My husband is a native New Englander and his roots kicked in just before kickoff. Being an avid Chicago Bears fan myself, I was clearly obliged to cheer for the team that knocked Green Bay out of contention and that made me a Seattle fan for the day. I also quite like the city of Seattle itself, very much enjoy Skittles (can someone explain the association between Skittles and the Seahawks to me?) and find Boston sports fans obnoxious on all levels.  It wasn’t a difficult decision.  I’m not a Katy Perry fangirl, but I thought she was a brilliant choice for the halftime show.  She did an excellent job of captivating everyone we were watching with and I thought it was a really fun performance.  The commercials this year were really….heavy.  They were much less fun.  We headed home immediately after the game ended because that was when the roads were clear and the snow the lightest it had been in hours.

*******************************************************************************

Other notable events included Valentine’s Day and Liam’s birthday.  I read quite a lot and was able to make my miles biked goal rather easily.  That was a huge relief after a January where I was hardly able to workout on account of the car accident.  We were hoping for a boring, inexpensive month and that is exactly what we got.

States we slept in: IL

Books read: Marie Kondo’s The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up (my thoughts are here).  An abridged version of The Five Love Languages – definitely not interested in reading the full thing anymore.   That puts me at 4/35 for the year because I’m not counting the Love Languages overview.

TV shows watched: Parenthood.  House of Cards.  Downton Abbey.  Friday Night Lights.  Oookay, that’s a ton of television for me.  Looking back I’m not sure how that happened, but now it makes sense that I didn’t get through many books.

Projects completed: Inspired by Marie Kondo I did a fairly significant purge of our household items and my personal belongings.  I also helped my parents do the same when I spent the weekend with them.  I tracked our spending on a daily basis (boring!) and cooked fish for the first time.

Dates: We celebrated Liam’s birthday dinner at a new brewpub near our house and went for Thai food on Valentine’s Day.  Technically we left for the Superbowl in January and I think that our two dates may have been the only times all month that we left the house together.  Thanks, grad school.

Snippets: More aftermath of the accident to deal with – not complaining; it was just very time consuming.  Received our tax refund and put it in savings like boring people.   Shoveled so much snow at the beginning of the month.  Liam had midterms and I spent a weekend with my parents.  Celebrated lots of birthdays.

Like this type of post?  Check out more via the linkup on Amanda’s blog!

3 thoughts on “Month in Review: February 2015

  1. Amanda

    We put our tax refund (what little it is) into savings as well. Boring, but also smart 🙂 I really didn’t have anyone to root for this year in the Super Bowl. I dislike both teams for various reasons, but I ended up rooting for the Seahawks because I like Russell Wilson. The end was crazy! Sounds like you guys had a pretty good February. I can’t believe it’s March already!

    Reply
    1. Sara Oss Post author

      Me either! Thanks for the fun link-up. We usually take a little bit (like 5%) of our return to go do something fun or have an extra dinner out, but we could not think of a single thing we wanted to do. That part felt so very boring and mature.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Month in Review: March 2015 | Our Small Space

Leave a Reply

